New Tom Waits: Bad To Me – Streaming Now

For me, listening to a new Tom Waits album for the first time is what I would imagine reading a new Dead Sea Scroll is like for Christians: It’s exciting, it’s new, and it’s just possible that it might change the way I think about the world.

That’s how much this man’s music means to me. I have been very fortunate in my life to have experienced some of the world’s greatest musicians live, but nothing comes close to seeing Waits in concert. There are perhaps only one or two other artists whose albums I would reach for when the apocalypse comes, but Waits is the only one who could actually provide the soundtrack for said apocalypse.

Which brings us today. Bad To Me officially releases next week, but Anti has created a streaming site where you can preview the album now, for free: http://www.badasme.com/

All you need is a listening code. I’ve got three codes left, and whomever sees them here is welcome to them:  zqb-rvqdg, fnb-7zi86, ogb, spl7i.  But if those don’t work, just go to TomWaits.com and ask for one.

I’ll be doing a full review when the actual album comes out, but in the meantime I’ll just say that so far it’s shaping up to be the best studio record he’s put out since….ahhh, I can’t do it.  Picking which Tom Waits album I like best is like choosing which of your children is your favourite, without the advantage of seeing her grade scores so that you can know which one will most likely earn the most money. But if you ask me right now? This is the best album of the year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

